Policy tools, side by side
AllyMatter, eight policy tools, and the Google Drive and SharePoint many companies already use, compared on the job itself: getting a policy approved, read and acknowledged, and showing the record later. Facts from each vendor’s own website, read between 18 and 22 October 2026.
30-day trialUnlimited free viewersNo credit card required
The job, tool by tool
The rows follow a policy from approval to the record you hand an auditor.
YesPartly, or done another wayNot listed on the vendor’s site
Ten tools side by side. Scroll sideways or use the arrows; the first two columns stay in place.
| Feature | AllyMatter | Google Drive | SharePoint | ClearPolicy | Policy Confirm | DocRead | Blissbook | AirMason | Xoralia | DocTract | ComplianceBridge |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published price | $29 a month (Startup) or $49 (Scale); yearly $290 or $490 | Per user a month on a yearly commitment; prices are being confirmed | Included in Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7, Business Standard $23.50 and Business Premium $32 a user a month, paid yearly | $29 a month, one plan | Free up to 10 recipients; $49, $79 or $139 a month by recipients | Not published by the vendor | From $79 a month for 1 to 15 people, billed yearly; PRO from $119 | $999 a year for 1 to 99 employees, or $149 a month; $1,499 a year for 100 to 199 | Not published by the vendor | Not published by the vendor | Not published by the vendor; Silver, Gold and Platinum tiers |
| What the price follows | Editors: up to 20 on Startup, unlimited on Scale. Viewers and external users are free | Each user; Base up to 20 users, Starter and Standard up to 300 | Each user; 1 to 300 employees on these plans | Flat per organization, unlimited people | Recipients; unlimited policies and admins | Each user who receives reading assignments | Audience size; admins and archived people free | Employee count | Not stated on the live site | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free trial | 30 days, no card, then a 30-day money-back guarantee | 14 days; card not stated | One month free; a credit card is required | 30 days, no card | A free plan with no time limit, no card | Not stated | On request; length not stated | On request; length not stated | Yes, no card; length not stated | Not stated; demo on request | Not stated; demo on request |
| What you need to run it | A browser, with your data in the US or the EU. Sign in with email, Google or Microsoft | A browser; Drive for desktop is also listed | A Microsoft 365 plan for each user; Business Basic has web and mobile apps only | A browser; signers need no account | A browser; EU or US data region | Microsoft 365 and SharePoint | A browser | A browser | Microsoft 365; runs in your own tenant | A browser | A browser; part of a GRC suite |
| Acknowledgment by name | Yes: Yes, signed in, with name, email, date and time | Not listed: Not listed as a policy feature; a Google Form can require sign-in and limit to one response per person | Not listed: Not listed for SharePoint; Microsoft Forms can record names for people signed in with a work or school account | Yes: Yes, a typed name from an email link | Yes: Yes: click, quiz or signature | Yes: Yes, after opening the document | Yes: Yes, with customizable forms | Yes: Yes, a typed name, with optional scroll-to-end | Yes: Yes, read and sign | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes: read receipts, acknowledgments and attestations |
| Acknowledgment tied to the version | Yes: Yes, with the statement the person confirmed | Not listed: Not listed | Not listed: Not listed | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes, the exact content each person saw | Yes: Yes, exports by version | Not listed: Not stated | Not listed: Not stated | Not listed: Not stated |
| When a policy changes | Yes: The new version is approved, then goes back to everyone it applies to. Small edits too, since even a comma can change a meaning | Not listed: Not listed | Not listed: Not listed | Partly: The admin chooses when to send new requests | Partly: Change-triggered cycles; whether they start on their own is not stated | Partly: An admin resets assignments (vendor knowledge base) | Partly: An admin starts a new signature round | Partly: A one-click recollect by an admin | Partly: Scheduled re-attestation, often yearly; on change not stated | Partly: Users are alerted to updated policies | Partly: Notifications on publish or update |
| Reminders | Yes: Automatic, on a cadence you choose when you send | Partly: Approval due dates send email reminders to reviewers, and eSignature sends its own. Reminders to readers not listed | Partly: A Power Automate reminder flow emails the person who sets it up before a date column; Purview disposition reviewers get a weekly reminder. Reminders to readers not listed | Yes: Yes, follow-ups timed to opens and deadlines | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes, with manager escalation | Yes: Yes; manager digest on PRO | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes, with escalation | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes, with supervisor escalation (Gold and up) |
| Approval before it goes out | Yes: Required for every document: up to 4 steps, any or all approvers | Yes: Yes, in Drive on the editions listed: one or more reviewers, all must approve and one rejection rejects; the file can lock on approval and an edit can reset approvals | Yes: Yes: Configure approvals on lists and libraries, any one approver by default or all by a toggle; editing a file cancels a pending request. Power Automate approval flows are also documented | Not listed: Not listed | Not listed: Not listed | Yes: Yes; steps not described | Partly: Partly: multi-stage reviews on PRO | Partly: Partly: one sign-off before publishing | Yes: Yes, as many stages as needed | Yes: Yes, multi-step, with AI summaries for approvers | Yes: Yes, multi-stage |
| Version history and compare | Yes: Word-by-word compare with a count of what changed | Yes: Version history with named versions; Compare documents builds a new Doc showing differences as suggested edits | Partly: Version history keeps the last 500 versions by default; two versions can be compared in Word and Excel | Partly: Version history; side-by-side compare not listed | Partly: Version history | Partly: Through SharePoint versioning | Yes: A redline of any two versions | Yes: Show changes between published versions | Partly: Version history | Yes: Compare any versions | Yes: Side-by-side compare (Platinum) |
| e-sign | Yes: Native, an add-on on Scale | Yes: Native eSignature on Standard and Enterprise: up to 10 signers, with an audit trail page on the signed PDF | Yes: Microsoft 365 eSignature for PDFs and Word, billed pay-as-you-go through an Azure subscription; Adobe Acrobat Sign and Docusign are also integrated | Yes: Native typed-name signature | Yes: Native | Not listed: Not listed | Yes: Native | Yes: Native | Not listed: Not stated | Not listed: Not stated | Yes: Yes (Silver and up) |
| Public policy pages | Yes: Yes. Any approved policy can be published to a page that anyone can open without signing in. On Scale, the page sits on your own domain | Partly: Publish to the web gives a view-only copy to everyone on the web, if the admin allows it | Partly: Anyone links work without sign-in when the admin allows them; they can expire and be view-only | Not listed: Not listed; the signing portal uses an email code | Not listed: Not listed | Not listed: Not listed | Yes: Unindexed public links | Partly: Public signature collection | Not listed: Not listed | Yes: A public policy portal | Yes: A branded public portal (Gold and up) |
| Review and expiry dates | Yes: Both, with in-app and email alerts; expiry hides the document | Not listed: Not listed as review dates; access to a shared file can be set to expire within one year | Partly: Partly: a retention label can start a disposition review, up to 5 stages, when the retention period ends | Partly: Partly: renewal of signatures on an interval | Yes: Yes, validity periods | Partly: Partly: acknowledgment deadlines | Partly: Partly: expiration on PRO | Not listed: Not listed; law-change alerts instead | Yes: Yes | Yes: Yes, periodic reviews | Yes: Yes; expiration notices on Platinum |
| Export of the record | Yes: Document log as PDF or CSV, plus the workspace audit log | Partly: Download a Doc as Word or PDF; the Activity dashboard lists who viewed a file inside your domain | Partly: List to Excel or CSV (CSV up to 30,000 rows, lists only); libraries export to Excel | Yes: Certificate of attestation and report export | Yes: Yes, PDF and CSV or Excel | Yes: Yes, plus a Power BI template | Yes: CSV, PDF, signed forms and SFTP to your HR system | Yes: CSV and PDF | Yes: Excel and Power BI | Yes: Audit binders | Yes: Yes |
| Consultants with several clients | Yes: One login across client workspaces; each client owns and pays for its own | Not listed: Not listed | Not listed: Not listed | Not listed: Not listed | Yes: A partner program and a multi-entity Enterprise plan | Not listed: Not listed | Partly: Unclear; a PEO page exists | Yes: CoLaunch: white-label, priced per client | Not listed: Not listed | Not listed: Not listed | Partly: Resellers and OEM partners |
Facts about each tool come only from its own website, read on 18 October 2026. Prices are shown as each vendor publishes them; where a vendor publishes none, we say so. “Not listed” means we did not find it on the vendor’s site, which is not the same as the product lacking it. We make AllyMatter, so read its column as our own description. Something wrong or out of date? [email protected], and we will correct it and date the change.
Each tool, and where it is stronger
Every tool here does something better than the rest. Open one to see it against AllyMatter, with sources.
ClearPolicy
Small organizations: small businesses, home care, nonprofits and churches.
- Price
- $29 a month, one plan
- Runs on
- A browser; signers need no account
- Stronger at
- One flat monthly price for unlimited people and documents, with no card for the trial.
Policy Confirm
Compliance, HR, legal and IT teams, from one team to a group of companies.
- Price
- Free up to 10 recipients; $49, $79 or $139 a month by recipients
- Runs on
- A browser; EU or US data region
- Stronger at
- A free plan for up to 10 recipients with no time limit, and paid plans with unlimited admins.
DocRead
Compliance, HR, quality and IT teams that keep their policies in SharePoint.
- Price
- Not published by the vendor
- Runs on
- Microsoft 365 and SharePoint
- Stronger at
- Documents stay inside SharePoint, with audiences from Entra groups and reporting in Power BI.
Blissbook
HR teams, from growing companies to enterprises.
- Price
- From $79 a month for 1 to 15 people, billed yearly; PRO from $119
- Runs on
- A browser
- Stronger at
- US employment-law content: more than 300 model policies, with law-change updates as an add-on.
AirMason
HR teams building and running the employee handbook.
- Price
- $999 a year for 1 to 99 employees, or $149 a month; $1,499 a year for 100 to 199
- Runs on
- A browser
- Stronger at
- A designed, branded handbook builder, with law-change updates across 50 US states, federal law, Canada and the UK.
Xoralia
Regulated organizations that run on Microsoft 365.
- Price
- Not published by the vendor
- Runs on
- Microsoft 365; runs in your own tenant
- Stronger at
- Everything stays inside your own Microsoft 365 tenant: SharePoint, a Teams app, Viva cards and Entra.
DocTract
Teams of all sizes, with many universities, local governments and healthcare groups.
- Price
- Not published by the vendor
- Runs on
- A browser
- Stronger at
- Public policy portals and audit binders used by universities and governments.
ComplianceBridge
Higher education, healthcare, public safety and local government, as part of a wider compliance suite.
- Price
- Not published by the vendor; Silver, Gold and Platinum tiers
- Runs on
- A browser; part of a GRC suite
- Stronger at
- Mature governance inside a wider compliance suite that also covers risk, audit, conflicts of interest and incidents.
Tools you may already have
Most small companies start with Google Drive or SharePoint. These two pages compare them with AllyMatter.
Questions
How were these facts checked?
From each vendor’s own website, read on 18 October 2026. We did not use review sites or price estimates. Each tool’s page lists the pages we read.
Can AllyMatter handle the policies a standard asks for?
Yes. AllyMatter handles the policy layer of a standard: the written policies and procedures it asks for, each approved, kept current, sent to the people it covers, acknowledged, and kept with its version history and review dates.
Which tool suits a handbook on its own?
Blissbook and AirMason are built around the employee handbook, with US employment-law content. AllyMatter suits a company where several departments each run their own policies and every one goes through approval.
Something here is wrong. Who do I tell?
Write to [email protected]. We correct it and date the change.
Try
free for 30 days
- No credit card needed
- 30-day money-back guarantee
- Free migration on yearly plans
